BCHS_Building

Brown County Humane Society
P.O. Box 512
1301 South Valley Street
New Ulm, MN  56073
Phone: 507-359-2312    (please leave message)
E-mail: bchsnu@hotmail.com

Shelter Story

The Brown County Humane Society began in 1981 as a 501(C)3 non-profit  organization.  The Humane Society began exclusively as a fostering organization before locating its first building in north New Ulm.  Around 2004 we moved to our present location at 1301 South Valley Street in New Ulm, MN.  It provides a valuable service to the Brown County area by sheltering and placing lost and unwanted animals up for adoption.  Nominal adoption fees are charged to cover the cost of medical attention needed by the animals.  This includes shots, spaying or neutering, common animal ailments, as well as other operational expenses and animal care.  It is a no-kill shelter so no time limits are set on our pets that are awaiting adoption.  The shelter works exclusively with dogs, puppies, cats and kittens.

Our Purpose

The purpose of the Humane Society is to be an advocate for appropriate treatment of animals; to promote education of the public as to humane animal treatment; to encourage adoption of animals into caring and responsible homes; and to otherwise assist in alleviating animal suffering, misperceptions, and lack of care or attention.

BCHS is a 100 percent volunteer organization with no paid staff.  All monies raised through fundraisers go directly to the care of the animals.  Many volunteers come to the shelter daily to feed, walk, clean and train the animals so they will be ready for adoption to their forever homes.   Many other volunteers work in fundraising and management of the shelter.  The shelter is run by the Board of Directors who also volunteer in many of the different areas.

Adoption hours at the shelter are each Saturday from 11:00 am to 2:00 pm.  If you are unable to come at this time, please call for an appointment at 507-359-2312 (leave message).

Board of Directors:

NameTitleEmail
Amy BloedelChairmanamybloedel@oakhillsnewulm.com
Teresa GramsPresidentpurplecat@hotmail.com
Lynn MartinkaVice Presidentdmartinka@comcast.net
Nicole NorcuttSecretarynnorcutt@aol.com
Dani Bohm-GuldenTreasurerdanilynn16@hotmail.com
Glenn Huhn
Cara Knaufcara@newulm.com
Lee Knaufvairy69@Comcast.net
Shiloy Reinhartshellyr@newulmtel.net
Diane Kaupakaupa@yahoo.com

Shelter Staff:

NameTitleEmail
Jerry AllenDog Leadsusanhallen@hotmail.com
Teresa GramsCat Leadpurplecat@hotmail.com
Office Staff:
Diane Abrahamabraham1312@newulmtel.net
Nicole NorcuttOffice Staffnnorcutt@comcast.net

Newsletters

(Click to open in PDF)